Write Action

About Us




Donation Box

Write Action is a nonprofit 501/3C corporation.
Gifts are tax deductible.








Write Action
HomeAbout Write ActionNews & EventsWrite Action StoreMembersContact

Write Action Board Members

President – Charlene Wakefield
Charlene works at Vermont Legal Aid doing financial analysis. Charlene's writing has been published in The Best of Write Action, The Cracker Barrel, the Commons Newspaper, and the Chrysalis Reader. Her art has been featured on the cover of Chrysalis Reader and used as a cup design for Vermont Legal Aid.

Vice President – Toni Ortner
Toni lives in Putney, Vermont. She has had 17 books published by fine small presses; the most recent are: Writing with Our Blood, Water Poems, Currents We Never Dream Of, Don't Shiva for Me (Moon Publishing Company) and Jeopardy (Finishing Line Press). Next spring Traveling, A Perspective will be published by Kelsay Press. She hosts the Write Action Radio Hour the last Sunday of each month where she interviews writers and has them read their work.

Secretary and Treasurer – Arlene Distler
Arlene is a co-founder of Write Action. She has had poetry in Chrysalis Journal, Kalliope, New Millenium Writing, North American Review and anthologies Freedom's Just Another Word, Birchsong: Poetry Centered in Vermont, and The Best of Write Action I and II. In 2014 she published a chapbook, Voices Like Wind Chimes. Her art reviews are regularly featured in Art New England, The Commons newspaper, Artscope, and other local and regional publications.

Board Members:

Andy Burrows
Andy is a poet. He is also the publisher of Pro Lingua Associates in Brattleboro, publishing English as a Second Language textbooks in 1980. He has served on the boards of the Brattleboro Museum and Art Center, Center for Digital Art, and Vermont Public Radio.

Rolf Parker-Houghton
Rolf Parker-Houghton is a staff reporter at the Deerfield Valley News, in Wilmington, Vermont. He is particularly interested in formal poetry and the promotion of its recitation. He hosts the Write Action Radio Hour every third Sunday of the month.

Molly Melloan
Singer, musician, writer, spiritualist. Molly has held a position as an empresario of the Write Action Radio Hour twice a month since 2013.

Ex-officio Board members

Tom Ragle
President Emeritus of Marlboro College, former Director of the Salzburg Seminar, and former special consultant to the United Nations Development Program in Beijing, China.  He writes and publishes poetry under the pen name Lee Bramble. In 2013 Small Pond Press published his collection, Take This Song.

Mary Mathias
Mary was a Board member between 2004 and 2013, treasurer for most of that time. Mary Mathias is a writer, social worker who spent many years in Croatia and Cambodia, and has been working on a memoir about her life on a communal farm for 30 years in Vermont. While on the Board, Mary spearheaded, with Tom Ragle, the annual Write Action Poetry and Prose Contest.

Honorary member, in memorium - Edmund Brelsford
Well known in the area for his performances of early music, he was also emeritus professor of foreign languages and literatures at Marlboro College, where, during his 44 year tenure, he also taught comparative literature, linguistics, translation, and interpretation. Brelsford was an enthusiastic member of the Board of Write Action between 2008 and 2011. He ran the Write Action Radio Hour, and had an astute and engaging hourly program on WVEW several times a month. We miss you, Edmund!



© 2006 Write Action | site by MuseArts